High Quality Characteristic Tungsten Carbide Supplier


You are here: Home / Technical Supports / Product Knowledge / What are the models of cemented carbide?

What are the models of cemented carbide?

Views: 0     Author: Zhuzhou Jinding Cemented Carbide Co., Ltd     Publish Time: 2024-05-09      Origin: Site

Hard alloys, also known as cemented carbides or tungsten carbides, are available in various models or grades, each designated by a specific code that indicates its composition, grain size, and other properties. Different manufacturers may use slightly different systems for grade designations, but some common models include:

1. ISO Grade System:

Cemented carbide grades are often classified using the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) system. For example:

ISO P (P for P/M, Powder Metallurgy) Grades: ISO P grades are commonly used for cutting tools and wear applications.

ISO P10-P30: Coarse-grained grades for roughing and heavy cutting.

ISO P40-P50: Medium-grained grades for general-purpose cutting.

ISO P01-P09, P60-P69: Fine-grained grades for finishing and high-speed machining.

ISO K (K for Castings) Grades: ISO K grades are used for cutting tools in cast iron.

ISO M (M for Mining) Grades: ISO M grades are designed for mining and drilling applications.

2. American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Grades:

ANSI grades are commonly used in North America for hard alloys. Examples include C1 to C8 for wear resistance, M10 to M50 for cutting tools, and T15 to T25 for tool coatings.

3. Russian Standards (GOST) Grades:

In Russia, hard alloys are often classified according to the State Standard (GOST) system. For example, VK grades are used for cutting tools, and TK grades are used for wear-resistant applications.

4. Company-Specific Grades:

Many manufacturers have their own proprietary grade systems with specific codes and designations. For instance, grades from major manufacturers like Sandvik (e.g., GC, GC, and CC grades) and Kennametal (e.g., K, KT, and KY grades) have their own systems.

5. Carbide Grades with Coating:

Grades may also be designated with additional letters to indicate specific coatings applied to the hard alloy. Common coatings include TiN (titanium nitride), TiCN (titanium carbonitride), and AlTiN (aluminum titanium nitride).

It's important to note that the exact models and designations can vary between manufacturers, and the specific application requirements will determine the most suitable grade. When selecting a hard alloy grade, factors such as hardness, toughness, wear resistance, and thermal stability must be considered based on the intended use in cutting tools, wear parts, mining tools, or other applications. Manufacturers typically provide detailed documentation and recommendations for their specific grades.

Quick Navigation
About Us
Technical Supports
Get In Touch
 Address: No. B-7, Zhuzhou Auto Parts Industrial Park, No. 9, Zhongda Road, Tianyuan District, Zhuzhou City, Hunan Province, China. 412007
 Phone: 0086-0731-22660738

 Wechat : mayyang789

 Skype: mayyang789
Copyright © 2020 Zhuzhou Jinding Cemented Carbide Co., Ltd. Technical support :  Leadong